Atelier de Cuisine at the French Cultural Center/af of Boston

photos classe celine 133

I blinked my eyes and the summer drove past before I had a chance to ask for a ride !  Rather rude, though I know hitch-hiking is frowned upon in most places.  I thought Summer might make an exception, but alas – here I am, at the end of August, with but a week of “liberties” left to my name.

I can’t complain though, as these busy months have brought many surprises, including the opportunity to teach my own cooking workshops at the French Cultural Center/Alliance Française of Boston !  Working with students ranging from age 3 to mid-teens, we tackled pain aux raisins, mousse au chocolat, and bread (“pain”), which we (of course) christened as baguettes.  The final results were impressive, and this week’s group was no exception.

Tuesday afternoon, thirteen fabulous “ados” (aka teenagers) gathered in the ballroom of the FCC/af and listened to me (yes, attentively – I only chided Siri once…and since I don’t have Siri on my phone, it really wasn’t a bother at all🙂  She’s really quite sweet) explain how I started blogging and why I love cooking.  I then divided the group into two teams, pairing each group with a recipe.  Their mission ?  Prepare the recipe, with my guidance, to be published on my blog.

This could have gone so terribly, horribly, wrong.  What if we failed ?  What if they didn’t like it ?  Not to mention dealing with a big goofball (me) in the kitchen…

Atelier cuisine 100

I have never been PROUDER of a group of students.  They spent just over 90 minutes in a hot kitchen working constantly (for the most part…) to make bread and mousse au chocolat.  They separated eggs – some for the first time – without hitch.  They kneaded bread dough.  They asked fantastic questions, like “Why do we knead dough” and “why does bread rise” ?  Rather than just mentally check out, I was delighted to see them all working.  The blog entries posted below are a result of these thirteen ados incredible work – they wrote everything, took and selected all of the photos, and of course, ate the food they made (though I DID help eat the mousse…it was too good to ignore).   Félicitations to the super-chouette ados !  To see their work, either school down or click the hyperlinks above.

GROUP PHOTO

Please note: these recipes and steps are in French as the workshops were “animated” in French only, following the immersion-style teaching guidelines of the alliance française.  If you would like an English translation, that is entirely possible – just let me know.  Bon appétit !

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

