Homemade Pizza with Veggies and Goat Cheese

In my family, homemade pizza is a Sunday evening tradition.  From the crust to the topping, we love to get inventive. My favorite variation is currently a sweet, rosemary crust topped with onions, artichoke hearts, sun-dried tomatoes, prosciutto, mushrooms, garlic, and goat cheese…though since it’s pizza, you can put essentially anything on top and it will taste delicious.  I’ll put the recipe for the crust in a separate post.

_________________

FOR THE TOPPING

5 onions
1 jar of marinated artichoke hearts
Pancetta or bacon or ham or prosciutto
Cherry tomatoes (grape tomatoes are just as nice)
Sundried tomatoes
Mushrooms (optional)
3 cloves Garlic
Mozzarella cheese (I like to use fresh but the shredded kind is fine….or a mix is good too)
Goat cheese

McCormick Italian herbs seasoning.

In a large sauté pan over medium heat, put 1 tbsp butter with 1 tbsp olive oil. Cut the onions into little strips, quartering them then cutting those quarters into three. Add the garlic, diced, to the pan. Start by sauteing the onions until they are caramelized, meaning they take on a light brown color. Be sure to stir them constantly to prevent them from burning.  Add a few turns of McCormick Italian Herbs seasoning.

Add the tomatoes, halved, into the onion mixture. Cook until just softened…maybe 5 minutes. Take the artichoke hearts and cut them into small pieces….they are usually too big in the store-bought container, so I snip them in half with kitchen scissors. Add those to the mushroom/tomato/onion mix. A little grated Parmesan is nice to add, as well as a liberal amount of seasoning.

In a separate pan, cook the mushrooms (if desired).  Make sure not to put too many in the pan and cook these only in butter. They will shrink and turn brown. Once they have done so, add them to the mix.

If you are using pancetta or ham, give it a quick fry in a pan. No grease necessary for pancetta……..a little butter for ham. Just a tiny bit. Reserve this.

Preheat the oven to 475 F.  On a floured surface, roll out the pizza dough.  On the pizza dough, spread a wee bit of sauce by using the back of a large spoon. Then, add the shredded mozzarella cheese. On top of this, put the topping. Then the meat. Then the fresh mozzarella or goat cheese and top with a little Parmesan.

Cook the pizza for 20 minutes or until the crust and the cheese are a nice brown color.  Allow the pizza to cool for 5-10 minutes before cutting – otherwise, the pizza will ooze everywhere and make a mess on the stovetop…not fun.

Happy eating !

Categories: English | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza with Veggies and Goat Cheese

  1. diane

    …I can’t seem to find the ” later ” post for the crust???? (.. I’m sure it’s just me…). I just recently came upon your blog whiile looking for a risotto that I thought I could actually make…( and it turned out fine for my first time…thanks to you…). You do a beautiful job of describing and photographing your dishes…I am not surprised you received an award…please continue…Oh, I also love your picture notes…how fun!

    • I’m so glad the risotto turned out well for you ! It is definitely one of my favorite dishes to make (I made some just last night, actually – with mushrooms, tomatoes, and onions). I’m glad you enjoy my recipes (thank you !) AND I checked the older entries on my computer…and I didn’t end up posting the pizza crust recipe ! How terrible ! I’ve added it to my list of recipes to post…given that I’m back at school, I’m sure pizza will appear very soon. I promise – it’s very easy🙂 Happy reading !

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

